GoogTube it is

GoogTubeI don’t have anything useful to say about Google’s acquisition of YouTube, but it is interesting to look at their site’s information outlets moments after Mike made the announcement… Nate Anderson at Ars Technica picked these up too:

So anyway, there you go. Google acquires yet another piece of my life (though I do feel more cum-bah-ya with the folks at Blip.tv (and maybe Revver too)).

And I should add that those last deals from the press page are the one to watch out for. Not the Google deal. After all, Google has no content. YouTube has some, but Sony, Universal and CBS are the ones with the goods. Google’s purchase only helps YouTube weather the lawsuits and help it scale. After that, it comes down to content and community (oh, and DRM: how convenient it is for YouTube to ink deals with pro-DRM folks the same day as Teh GOOG. Suddenly they’ve bought into one of the more successful pipes of unlicensed content out there. With Google backing the service, you can imagine that this puppy will scale, too).

Don’t forget, too, that Google and Apple are all chummy-chummy, so expect to see some iTunes-cum-Gplayer synergies emerging… where you upload your iMixes to YouTube and Google churns them out with newly minted ads making the stockholders oh-so-proud.

Gotta love this new user-generated-economy.

One Comment

  1. synthetron said
    at 5pm on Oct 9th # |

    We’re doing an experiment on a collaboratively filtered realtime discussion. PLease join us to the following discussion:

    TOPIC: google youtube

    START TIME:

    2006-10-10 , 00:00 CEST (Brussels, Paris, Rome, Madrid, Stockholm).
    2006-09-10 , 23:00 BST (London, Dublin, Lisbon).
    2006-09-10 , 18:00 EDT (New York, Detroit, Toronto, Montreal).
    2006-09-10 , 15:00 PDT (Vancouver, Los Angeles, Tijuana, Yukon).

    TO JOIN:

    go to the following url:

    https://www.synthetron.com/account/tag/conversation/googleyoutube

    Confirm [yes] to the security warning and follow the instructions.
    (In some companies a proxy login dialog box will appear. You then need to type your company internet username and password).

    YOU NEED:

    A Java plugin installed on your browser.

2 Trackbacks

  1. [...] Chris Messina / FactoryCity: GoogTube it is — I don’t have anything useful to say about … [...]

  2. [...] So in light of the GooTube buy-out, what’s interesting about this Dodgeball stitchover is what happens if they do the same to YouTube (which, of course, they will, giving them a lump sum portion of the nearly 20M monthly uniques as new or merged accounts under their proprietary authentication system). …Which then, of course, can be used at other Google Authenticated sites. But hey, how useful are those accounts on sites that don’t use their system? Yeah, about as a good as a false username and an incorrect password: utterly useless. [...]